Meet SpinSpinNYC’s Art Director e.Binard

For months, we’ve been dying to introduce you to SpinSpinNYC’s Art Director, e.Binard: the woman responsible for helping make so many of our visions a reality, the artist behind our one of a kind clothing line Fetish Authentic, the creator of unique pieces for Nutritious and Wilder to perform in. She always keeps us wondering what mystical masterpieces will be unveiled next…

Lipstick_Studio_Nutritious_Wilder_SpinSpinNYC_01Lipstick Studio featuring Nutritious & Wilder. Photo credit: Michelle Pedone

How did you become a part of the SpinSpinNYC family?
Well, I’ve known Nutritious since my second year of college. We were housemates my third year at CU Boulder, in an infamous shared house affectionately dubbed “the Crack Shack”…but that’s a story for another time. Nutritious has always been an awesomely talented musician, from drumming to DJ, and I’ve always been a supporter of his musical endeavors. Plus, I had already worked with him designing some wardrobe pieces when he was involved with the Montel Williams show and book, and he has always been a great supporter and fan of my artistic endeavors. So when he asked me to work with SpinSpinNYC on everything from promotional designs to making merch, I was eager to get on board!

What’s your favorite genre of music?
I’m a rock and roll girl at heart, though I like a little of everything…from classical to world music to EDM.

Talk to us about some of the stuff you’ve done using Beck, Frank Zappa, and The White Stripes and even comedian Lewis Black as inspiration.
I was making clothing inspired by music going all the way back to puffy painting Grateful Dead dancin’ bears on jeans in junior high. I put Zappa, Beck, and Lewis all in a rug that I hand painted as part of my Masters Thesis Project, and that led me into using this style of portraiture in my clothing designs. Lewis Black was a personal friend, which led to him being in my designs for a while. The White Stripes have been a real driving force in my art for many years. They really have a straightforward and aesthetically pleasing design format, with the red, black, and white color scheme and many interesting identifiable motifs…and I have a bit of an obsession with the Stripes, and Jack’s music in general. I’ve always dreamed of getting to work on merchandise designs for him, or even just getting make some art for his personal collection…I hear he’s quite a taxidermy aficionado! Maybe someday…When it all comes down to it, I just make stuff I like and hope some other people like it, too.

I heard you outfitted Nutritious’s mother’s dogs.
Susan has been a great supporter of my arts as well, from being a buyer on my etsy page to sending me frozen roadkill to taxidermy. She became enamored with my clothing designs many years ago when I first started designing wardrobe pieces for Nutritious. I had this dog vest on my etsy page that I had made, and she saw it and wanted a pair for her 2 dogs. So, after sending her the existing one to try on for size, I made a second one with a slightly different design to go with it…so they match without being the same design. And the dogs look great in them!

Lipstick_Studio_Nutritious_Wilder_SpinSpinNYC_02Lipstick Studio featuring Nutritious & Wilder. Photo credit: Michelle Pedone

Where you do derive inspiration?
From everything around me. Music, art…especially street art, which is everywhere in NYC, architecture, history, science, and general geekery…especially sci-fi like Star Wars and Doctor Who.

When did you first know that you wanted to be an artist?
I have always had an uncontrollable compulsion to make “stuff”. Even as a small child I was always drawing, or making animals out of wads of masking tape (my mom still has a masking tape horse I made that is so brittle from age she can’t even move it anymore!). It was never really a conscious decision for me, I just always was an artist…It’s always been the one constant in my life, so I knew if I tried too hard to be something else I would just burn out. Art is the one thing I can always do, and still want to do more.

What materials do you like to work with?
I like to work in just about anything I can get my hands on, from basic painting, to furniture refinishing, to textile arts, to sculpture, to taxidermy. And I’m always looking to try my hand at something new…I only started working in taxidermy in the past year or so, after hearing about anthropomorphic taxidermy classes that were being offered by The Observatory Room in Brooklyn. It was a natural aptitude for me, combining my love of miniatures (which comes from a childhood of working on dollhouses with my mom and sister) with my interest in dissection (anatomy and zoology were favorite subjects of mine in high school and college). I have always wanted to work in ceramics and glass, but haven’t really gotten the chance, or the facilities, to do so yet.

Nutritious_Wilder_Lipstick_Studio_SpinSpinNYC_03Lipstick Studio featuring Nutritious & Wilder. Photo credit: Michelle Pedone

How about some advice to aspiring artists? You obviously have a lot of experience with a Masters Degree, and you still study. Kick some knowledge to aspiring artists. What kinds of things do they really need to know?
It’s important to remember that there will always be people who you think have better skill or more talent than you…just be confident while always expanding your skill set, and do what you love regardless of what others are doing. And if you go to art school, the most important things to learn for getting through critiques are: Never cry in critique, no matter how much they tear your work apart…Just smile and nod, and thank them for their helpful opinions. Never stop learning, never stop exploring new media, never be afraid to try something new and never be afraid to fail at it either.

Do you sign all your work, or no?
I sign some of it, I should sign all or most of it…to be honest, I forget to sign my work a lot. Probably because I always know my work is mine…but considering that others don’t, and I won’t be around forever to verify it, I probably should make myself sign everything in some way.

What’s your favorite piece you’ve made?
That is like asking a mother which of her kids is her favorite! I really love how the Squeakeasy turned out, and my Timey Wimey Toile textile design turned out pretty much exactly how I envisioned it…which is both rare and exciting when it happens! I don’t think i could pick just one thing I’ve made as my ultimate favorite though…not so far.

What do you keep in your workspace/studio to help inspire you?
Oh, my studio is a huge organized mess of stuff that may or may not become part of art at some point. It’s only slightly more organized than a hoarder’s house! I do have a child size chinese dragon costume that I pulled out of the trash outside a school when I lived in Chelsea that I love. He kind of stands out of the mess. I find more inspiration outside that room, and bring it in there to work on, rather than going there to find my inspiration. It’s more of a problem solving and creating space than an inspiring one to me!

One thing to eat. One song to listen to. One show to watch on TV. One piece of fine art to look at. One book to read. One last thing to do before bed.
Bacon.
Love Interruption by Jack White
Big Bang Theory…I love those darn geeks!
Octopus Games by Utagawa Kuniyoshi
Right now I’d have to go with “A Song of Ice and Fire” series by George R.R. Martin, just because I can’t wait for the next book to come out…Seriously, it’s driving me nuts waiting for it!
Cup of tea before bed..then a thorough tooth brushing!

All of e.Binard’s taxidermy animals are ethically sourced, which means no animals are killed for her art. They come from feeder farms, roadkill, unclaimed deceased from several friends who are veterinarians, and donations. 

Comments?

